Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

The Big 10

What a night. I'm still a bit too overwhelmed to put it into words or any kind of coherent narrative.

Tonight was the annual Sunday Mail Young Scot Awards 2015 - the 10th anniversary. Since it began all those years ago it has grown into Scotland's biggest celebration of the contribution young people make to their communities. Who knew then, when about 375 people gathered at the first one, that a decade later we would be at the iconic Usher Hall in Edinburgh with nearly 3,000 people laughing, crying and cheering for our outstanding young Scots.

Simply amazing - every single nominee, finalist and winner. The pride of our nation indeed - they fill me with so much hope. What a privilege to be able to create an opportunity to honour them. You can see all the inspiring stories here - definitely worth a watch!

Out of all the amazing pictures from the night, this one is a bit more personal. Yes, it has the Deputy First Minister John Swinney in it - but it's the amazing young man with him who is one of my stars - the fab Ryan who won our Volunteering Award. I've got to know Ryan over the past couple of years, and to see him on stage, looking so sharp and thanking everyone so eloquently...well, I think my heart nearly burst. So proud of you Ryan and all that you have achieved - and so excited by what more is to come for you.

Right, stopping now...I seem to have something in my eye...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.