Amazing things

By HelenMcCall

Wan and ainly

I walked past this couple three times before I plucked up the courage to ask if I could take their photo.. I was so happy I did.
They told me a little about themselves..The gentleman said 'I am 91 and this lady is 89 and my girlfriend'. He continued to tell me that they had first met as teenagers in Glasgow,however, her mother had forbidden them to marry as he was going off to war (I think he said he was in The Royal Rifles and life expectancy was two weeks, He showed me a medal in his hat). They lost contact. She searched for him some years later and put an article in a local paper, which he saw, and they were reunited..That was five years ago...All that time apart and the love was still there. I asked was he going to marry her and he said he hoped to one day.
The pair of them had a gentle happy look about them and he had his pipe on, and his kilt and woollen socks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.