Another Anglo-Saxon

Orgreave is exactly the opposite side of the city to us, and is very different in every way. Best known for its former colliery and its Battle during the miners' strike, it is now a magnet for birds. There are a couple of large lakes, and the River Rother flows alongside the site but it is a mystery to me why it so popular - day after day, there are surprising and numerous  sightings. There are currently a lot of pieces of heavy earth-moving machinery landscaping the site but it doesn't seem to bother the birds. Many locals walk there dogs there, but the birds return as soon as they have passed by. I recorded 41 species on my visit, but I know I missed several. Most are too far away to get a decent photo, but for some reason, this Wheatear was happy to pose and let me get up close. 
Etymologically the name Wheatear has much in common with yesterday's Redstart, being of Anglo-Saxon derivation, and referring to the white rump of the bird, which is clearly visible as it flies away. Wheatears = White A****

I did get some nice but fleeting views of a Whinchat. Sadly no photos. I'm waiting with bated breath to see if  Blipper Vital Sparks has had more success, as we are having a little race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.