history book

I'm going to spend a week in Vilnius at the end of the month. One of those places which had a formative effect on me.

I won't need a guidebook for Vilnius, but I'm thinking of a day trip to Kaunas while I'm there. I hardly know it at all. 

I decided a rummage around on the bookshelves might turn up something useful. Even a 1998 guide might give me some ideas.

It brought back a lot of memories. When I bought it ('98 or '99) I was running a project in Romania and expected to have to visit Bucharest. I even had the visa in my passport. I'd also put in a bid to be involved in one in Ukraine, so this particular book (concise guides to lots of places) seemed right. 

I didn't get the Ukraine job and managed to delegate the Bucharest stuff, so the guidebook has never been further than my bookshelf! 

Wonder if I claimed it on expenses?   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.