A Robin's Work Is Never Done!

Louie on a mission today when I got to call and see him... He's feeding a family, sadly not in our garden, but a neighbour's garden.  I guess there are just too many blackbirds to jostle with in our garden so he felt safer further away and anyway, he has 'two' gardens to be in!

The birds are looking very unkempt now - they spent so much energy singing and courting and fighting for their territory, now they have nests full of ever hungry chicks begging to be fed and so they are losing condition, whether it's the odd feather or perhaps a whole tail... They themselves are no longer number one priority, they now have responsibility to keep their families happy.  Even though Louie does manage a bath or two each day, he doesn't have time to sit and preen, he doesn't even have time to sing... In fact most of the big singers now have gone a lot more quiet as there's just no time, too many mouths to feed, too many home improvements and tidying, it's never ending and even when Louie does pause to swallow a quick morsel for himself, there's no time to let it go down, he's got to start work immediately again and off he flies with his heavy load of two worms, no, wait!  Three worms!  :)

I'm selling my wares at RHS Rosemoor this 3 day weekend - so I might have to back blip and might have to post photographs of my stall using my little compact camera or even my phone (jaw drops, but I have no time to take the big camera and go out and get any shots!) :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.