May Day

On Wednesday night, Angie had expressed concern at Nigel being all alone in Munich today when Phil & Paul returned to the UK. I tried to assure her that he would be fine but she insisted I invite him yesterday to come over to us today. So I did as instructed and indeed after Phil said they had a late morning flight, I thought he may indeed have a few spare hours. I had in my bad memory that the flights were late afternoon.

So we agreed on parting last night that we would be in contact today and arrange something at short notice. Now I know the three of them and especially Nigel's thought processes. Having checked out Phil's old email with the flight times, I didn't bother to sit next to the phone this morning waiting for the "pick me up" call. Instead, I simply sent a message saying "the airport beer has no doubt prevented further travel and he should wish the other two a good home journey"

And so it was - Nigel accompanied them to the airport and they got stuck into the hops & malt and for the sake of decency, added some food to soak up a small proportion of the liquids.

 Just as well too: it was a dreadful day, raining almost all day and not lightly. Richard the farrier came in the morning to do the horses, Angie taking care of that while I slept off the last few days. The village was doing the Maypole erection bit today but simply the weather made this a non-starter. So instead the wood fire was lit and a day of doing nothing.

Nigel leaves tomorrow so we will simply postpone his horse riding, dog walking, cat-strokingvisit to a future date.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.