Tape

Biked to and from work today. Makes me feel very good and gives me a low blood pressure recording in the following hours after the exercise. On my way home my bike made an annoying tick, it was cold when I got home so I'll have to have a look tomorrow in the light and with normal clothing on.

Today's last minute blip is a sewing tape measure. Using your weight alone to  decide if you are over weight isn't very reliable as it varies by quite a few kilos during the day and good quality scales that are accurate and reliable are expensive. Even if you know how much you weight and how tall you are, the commonly used Body Mass Index (BMI) is based on a mathematically flawed principle and has repeatedly been shown to not be a useful predictor of heart disease, stroke or diabetes. A much better pair of measurements are the ratio of your height and waist and the ratio of your waist to your hips. Both only need a simple tape measure, and have been statistically proven to be a more reliable indicator of health than the BMI.

I'll be taking my measurements on Sunday morning as usual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.