Matt's persimmons

Matt recently put out a message on facebook that all persimmon lovers were welcome to share in the persimmons from the garden.  Bob duly responded and we have had golden persimmons ripening on our table since.

I don't like persimmons particularly.  I don't hate them, I just wouldn't go out of my way for them.  Which is a shame as they are the most beautiful tree - lovely in shape, size and a beautiful autumn candle of loveliness.  And when the fruit starts to ripen on the tree, well, so much the better.

So, with all this loveliness - who cares if the fruit is just ho hum.

So just a couple of days ago in Adelaide I said as much to Tom as he offered me a bite from his supposedly perfectly ripe persimmon.  He gave me a little talk about how I always used to say that they must keep trying things and be open to experience, so I could hardly say no.

And by golly, I was right!  It was delicious.

Thanks Tom.  How wonderful to have your children send back to you life's important lessons.

Even if it just a perfect persimmon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.