Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Circles

We don't have many of our own teaching spaces so when students get together for tutorials and workshops we use the teaching rooms of other universities, colleges, schools or training organisations.  The system works well though it's a lot of work to make sure everyone's in the right place at the right time and that the room has been booked, opened and set up.  Part of my job is to go along to tutorials and meet the students to find out how they're doing.  It's always an enjoyable thing for me and I'm never not hugely impressed by the dedication and energy of our students.

The place I've visited most often for this purpose is definitely Glasgow Caledonian University at Cowcaddens.  I was there today.  Outside the Hamish Wood Building is this sculpture by the Ohio-based artist Fletcher Benton.  I've never noticed it before so maybe it's new.  It's called 'Circles' and was a gift to the university from two of its honorary graduates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.