Far from the maddening crowd.

A damp and drizzly day so I changed my plans about going to the allotment and decided to go into Leeds. Got my ticket at the station and then hot footed over the track to take this shot of Hag Farm Lane (the start of one of my favourite walks)
That done hurried back and just caught the train. Twenty five minutes later the scene couldn't have been more different as the the city was packed!
Did a bit of shopping then went to the cinema to see Far From The Maddening Crowd.
Saw this film in 1967 with Julie Christie, Alan Bates and Terence Stamp, have also read the book more than once so was a bit apprehensive about this new version.
Had also heard that the film had been edited a lot as it was thought to be too long. No need to worry, I really enjoyed it and all the important bits are still there. I fact I thought it was well produced and to me this version stands up well.
Back through the hustle and bustle to the train and then back home far from the maddening crowds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.