Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

The Odeon

One of my projects last year was to locate and photograph all 39  plaques around Lewes, commemorating events, buildings and individuals that have been erected by the Town Council and Friends of Lewes  over the years. I finished that project but have just discovered a newly erected plaque (it says 2014butI think that was when it was commissioned) opposite St Thomas a Becket church in the Cliffe High Street. So here it is, no.40, commemorating the old Odeon cinema.

According to a survey by the Friends of Lewes there are another 28 wall plaques but they aren't of this design - in fact they are all different - so I excluded them from my odyssey. They might make another project although I've been thinking of moving on to cast iron coal hole covers for a change..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.