cjshields

By AroundHome

Tree Swallow

After four hours of yard work at the church, stopped off at nearby Spring Lake Park for what I hoped was a quick blip before going home to work on my own yard.  Swallows are nesting underneath a metal fishing pier, and a good number of them were flying over the lake feeding.  They are small and fast, and as a result are difficult to photograph.  Most of my attempts were not in focus.  Delete!  Almost every photo taken was a barn swallow (deeply forked tail), but the best one is a tree swallow.  At one point this particular bird slowed down and was close enough to get a decent picture.  When I returned home and looked at the photo on the computer screen and compared to my bird book I realized this was a mixed nesting site of mostly barn swallows and a few tree swallows.

Photographer note:  could not lock onto birds using 3D tracking.  This shot was done using Nikon AF-C d9 focus, with back button focus button held down for continuous focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.