fs2012

By FrankS

Lost in Translation

The Jubilee Weekend started wet and stayed overcast all day. It brightened up later when we went out for a late coffee at Costa.

I spent an hour or so this morning visiting Andrew and his family in Tokyo via Google+ Hangout. It was lovely to see Kio getting very excited when the video stream started. She's getting praised at her playgroup for her English learning which she demonstrated via various songs and books. I do miss them and must arrange another visit sometime.

This afternoon our friends Jo and James paid us a visit for a cup of tea and some technical advice. Jo's son, who currently works in India, is planning on marrying his Japanese girlfriend in Japan in the not too distant future. Excellent for Anglo-Nippon relations ;)

Thankfully I was able to help Jo with her e-reader, though I think advice re a calendar for the device fell on deaf ears. Personally I think the Archos e-Reader is full of potential but takes a little practice to get used to and may not be as user friendly as, say, Kindle. Not that I'm advocating the Kindle, I use my tablet for e-reading, and don't like the Kindle 'closed shop' approach (a bit like Apple, but then that's a different story).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.