Fi's Foibles

By purpleicious

Pots of gold

We had an idea that 'those big bushes' in our garden were rhododendrons, but never expected such a glorious display of blooms as we're currently being treated to. But even more unexpected was to see the insides of the flowers glinting like gold; on closer inspection the pollen resembles little golden packages wrapped around the end of each stamen, & the 'packages' resemble those little metal crimps that I used to use in my jewellery-making days - if only it hadn't been so breezy, & the bushes swaying around so much, I might have caught a sharper image to show what I mean: it can't be pollen, it looks like gold.
Who'd have thought it. Presumably such pollen is reserved for queen bees?
How appropriate that I should find it on this royal weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.