one species a day

By linnaeus

One species each day (from my backyard)

Being a sunny, calm day and the apple trees full of ripe fruit, birds and insects were busy stuffing themselves while they still could before winter arrives. Where birds had pecked the hard leathery skin away, Vespula germanica were able to feast on the sweet softer flesh. While I was standing on the wooden steps with my head and camera in between the branches, the wasps were mostly undisturbed, but the birds were not so sure. They would perch on a long branch, a safe distant away from me but retreated to another nearby tree when they saw me too close to their apples. I managed a reasonably nice shot of one of them, but I had to choose between the two of them for today's blib, and the wasp won.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.