nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Tour de Yorkshire

I'm not quite sure how well the French language sits alongside the local names, anyway this is the top of the Côte de Chevin, the last official hill on the Tour de Yorkshire, and a few miles from home.

I had considered entering the sportive that was run along the route before the race, but given the weather this morning I am glad I didn't, it was very wet and only dried up for the last few miles (actually I didn't enter because (a) it was £50 and (b) I had concerns about being swept up by a broom wagon).

I joined the local Leeds Cycle Action group unintentionally on my ride out there, the leader was a friendly chap and welcomed me to tag along.  Fortunately it was sunny most of the time we were waiting, plenty of bike spotting possibilities - I think the most interesting was a tandem with adapted higher pedals for the junior stoker.  The rain started just as the first riders appeared, but there was a good crowd and great atmosphere. It was nice to be there even though it's not possible to know who is passing and what is going on.  There were a few idiots who couldn't keep back far enough, and given the speed that the surprisingly numerous motorbikes came through at they were lucky not to be hit.  

So many people had cycled out to watch, so it was nice to ride back with lots of others on the roads.  Embarrassingly I got lost on the way home, I blame the roadie who distracted me...assuming that all cyclists are familiar with group riding shouts but seemingly unable to signal when turning and braking in front of me.  Anyway it was an interesting detour and I found a nice lane which seems somewhat out of place in a city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.