Northern Star

By Lifferz

Careg Cennen Castle in the fog

This morning I enjoyed a fab breakfast in 'The Mumbles'. It was rainy and grey and it's been a fleeting visit but I really liked the friendliness of the pace and I am sure to be back.

Walked up to explore Oystermouth Castle which was not yet open but wandered round. There was so much wild garlic growing around it and there was a cool rope swing I had a go on. I wasn't very good at getting off the swing tbh.

The journey back involved going to Careg Cennen Castle which is a private castle and looks like something from a fairytale. Took lots of narrow roads to get there and the place was very, very foggy. It's very high up and it became apparent it was shifting cloud base rather than just fog. Very moody. I don't use sepia mode very often as I am not a fan but I thought it worked ok with this. When the weather is a bit rubbish it's a great idea to get out and see places like this. The only other people there were quite old and gothy (this man appeared out of the fog with dyed black hair and wearing eyeliner) and that really suited the vibe. I walked around the sides of it as much as possible and there were some amazing drops to the ground below, the cloud took the edge off the fear factor. There is a long cave under the castle which you need a torch to explore. If you google image search the castle you will see how cool it looks from a distance. Maybe in better weather I will discover the place to photograph it from (from a distance) so I get the lovely landscape in.

Lunch was in somewhere called Crickhowell and found another castle and another interesting town. This seemed to be on a biker route and it was very busy with bikers today.

After more travel went to Raglan Castle and the sun came out then which was great. Passed a barrier at the top of a tower so I could sit and enjoy an amazing view of sugarloaf mountain in the distance.

Final stop of the day was Tintern Abbey ('tis). Didn't go in. It was grey and rainy again by then so sat under a big umbrella at a local inn and took in the view briefly. All in all a castle/ ruins filled weekend. Lots of ground covered but glad to be back home :-) My legs hurt a bit from the walking so that's a good thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.