Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Up on the New River Gorge Bridge

I'm home. I've replied to a few comments that have actual questions in them, but I kind of think I'll never manage to backtrack and actually respond to *everything* so I probably won't even try. I also will be unlikely to actually manage to see everything all of you have done while I was gone. So many blips, so little time...

Anyhoo. This is a view from the catwalk under that bridge - taken about midway thru our bridge walk this morning. If you use a magnifying glass you can just make out a rubber whitewater raft and a kayak in the middle of the shot - 800 feet down! The extra photo is a zoomed one of the raft and kayak. We basically got to see the *trifecta* of things to see from the bridge walk: a group of rafters in a raft; the Peregrine Falcon pair (they nest in one of the girders and basically keep the bridge free of pigeons); and a coal train on its way to Newport News, Virginia with a load of coal that will be - wait for it - exported to CHINA. Sheesh. So they can pollute the air with it.

Anyway, the walk was fabulous. I didn't get a shot of the falcons - they're much too fast. If I had, I would share it, but... there you are. You get tiny people in a raft instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.