Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

It's always a worrying time when the blackbirds decide to build a nest in the jungle at the back of our garden, which seems to be yearly now. Recently I've seen a baby blackbird hopping clumsily around the garden, then on Saturday, flying quite well from the fence to the tree, with the parents watching and chirping nervously nearby.  I've spent many an anxious moment watching the magpies pestering, flying near to the nest, diving and squawking, but hoped it was mature enough to survive now. So I was extremely sad and disappointed when  I looked out of the patio doors and saw the poor baby bird laying dead on the floor by the window.  I don't know if it was a cat or the magpies that had attacked it, but it was very upsetting to see (and I had a bit of tear!)

I tried to forget about it and thought I'd  finish reading my book that I'd been really getting into it...but it had a really sad ending too!

That was quite enough gloomy sadness for one Sunday. I wiped my tears away, decided I'd had enough of staying in the 'house and garden of gloom' with my sore ankle (which was definitely feeling a lot better!).  I took the DLR over to West India Quay to the cinema to watch 'Far from the Madding Crowd', which certainly brightened my day!  It feels like Matthias Schoenaerts plays a part in every film I go to see recently (maybe a slight exaggeration, but he appeared in Suite Francaise, A Little Chaos as well as Far from the Madding Crowd.  A popular chappie!)

I really like this water feature near Canary Wharf, with the water cascading down the steps....the wind was blowing it around a little cerazzzileee.  I limped a tiny bit, but certainly not as bad as sprained ankles that I've had in the past, so was very glad to be able to walk about again!


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.