Merrick Monday

It is my daughter Karen's birthday today. She was born in 1981. You do the math. I asked her what she wanted. "I'd love to have a nice long nap. Can you take Merrick for awhile?" That...I can do.

We got into my van. "Hey Papa, can we go the the chickie store?" (A farm store that sells ducks and chickens.) He actually doesn't want to see the chicks. He wants to see the toy cars. Cars, cars, and more cars.

After lunch with Grandma, we ended up at my house playing with cars ( he did get 3 new ones), and building blocks. I wanted to build a tower that was taller than him.

As for the baseball picture:

HOW I ENVISIONED IT: Merrick's team was ahead by one run in the last inning, There was only one out, and the other team had the bases loaded. Their batter scorched a line drive that was headed to left field, but Merrick timed his leap...Derek Jeter-like...and snagged the ball. Then...being acutely aware of the situation...he rifled the ball over to the first baseman to double off the runner. Boom-boom...game over.

HOW IT REALLY HAPPENED: Merrick spent more time kneeling and playing in the sand than he did paying attention to the game. When he did grab this ball, the two coaches (one of them his dad) had to yell (3 times each)..."Throw it to first!!" At this age of T-ball, there are no outs. Everybody gets to hit, and everybody is ALWAYS safe.

That's the way it should be. Playing...with no pressure.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY KAREN!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.