Harbor Shores

I spent the last two days golfing with my best friends, Dan and Jai.  They had me laughing so hard I was crying.  We always overdo it.  We played 36-holes two days in a row.  The way I am walking right now, you would think I was auditioning for the Walking Dead.
Harbor Shores isn’t only special because of its terrain, but also its story. 
The Harbor Shores  project has been a leading force in the revitalization of the Benton Harbor and St. Joseph communities.  It used to be a  toxic waste dump along Lake Michigan with abandoned factory buildings where they used to make asbestos brake pads. 
The Jack Nicklaus course hosted the 2012 Senior PGA Championship.
It's known for its treacherous greens.  No. 10. has four tiers on a massive 10,500 square-foot green and it’s the first time I can ever remember standing on one tier of a green and not being able to see the tier above it. The non-profit project reclaimed the sandy shoreline and  the course weaves through a depressed little community that is now really coming around. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.