The Way I See Things

By JDO

Chimneys

Taking a head-clearing photo walk around Chipping Campden this afternoon after running an exam, I got several shots that I like - but this one pleases me most. It's the roof, gables and chimneys of the West Banqueting House of Campden Manor, seen above the Manor wall in Church Street.

The West Banqueting House (along with its larger East neighbour) is available as a holiday let from the Landmark Trust. Living as close as we do it would clearly be silly for CH and me to rent it out, but every time I look at their properties I almost vibrate with temptation. Campden is such a pretty little town, with nice restaurants and pubs (the Eight Bells, which serves good food in portions that are really only appropriate to people doing six full days a week of hard manual labour, is literally just across the road).... Stop it, woman!! Remove the mouse from the on line booking form! And - breathe.....

Sorry - I'm OK now. Where was I? Oh yes - chimneys. Lovely Jacobean chimneys, giving a tantalising clue to how glorious the Manor must have been, before it was burnt down by the third Lord Campden during the English Civil War to stop it falling into the hands of Parliamentary forces. There's some more information about the Manor, and Sir Baptist Hicks who built it, here.

Back blip: Shoes on the Danube.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.