Coffee Stop

Stopped off for an espresso today, and couldn't help thinking how coffee shops have changed over the years.
I remember the time it was daily routine to take time for tea precisely at 10am in a local branch of Lyons tea houses; then at 11.30 it would be coffee at the Cadena; and then around 3pm back to the Cadena for another coffee.  At that time if you were lucky tea was poured from a pot, coffee was simply coffee, white or black.
I haven't counted just how many varieties of coffee I could now enjoy at today's much changed coffee shops like Arrosto di Caffe even though I invariably stick to the Continental habit of taking espresso with a strong punch. 
And who would have imagined then that I would ever have my own table top coffee machine at home, producing coffee every bit as flavoursome as the coffee shop, and in whatever variety I choose?
The one thing you cannot capture at home is the atmosphere, particularly on a day when you can sit outside at a coffee shop, and take time out to watch the world go by while partaking of your espresso, or latte, or Americano . . .or whatever. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.