Proud Weegie

By Shiv

Playing by the Rules

It's been a rough few days in the Weegie Household.  Teenage hormones, exam angst, too many blue smarties....I'm not sure who to blame.

There has been a lot of tears and tantrums - (sometimes mine!) - which is utterly exhausting.  Sometimes I just want to run away - or stay at work until everyone is in bed.  

But peace reigns again tonight.  A lot calmer - everyone is playing the game, for a little while anyway.

Shortly after I took this on my walk home (delaying the moment when I stepped through the door and witnessed the carnage), I met a fellow sufferer.  An ex-colleague, we pushed our prams together when our big ones were little and cute, and the only worry we had was "would they sleep all night".

It was great to know I wasn't alone.  Perhaps I'm not SUCH a bad parent after all.  We had a brief chat, and a promise to meet up and swap battle scars.

Sometimes you just have to do your best and hope that's enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.