Charlotte

No Nogbad, not what you think.

I got a call on Monday from Kate and we discussed Charlotte. Reminiscent of a call in July 2013 when the name George came up. Getting used to this role as Royal Maker.

It was dranddaughter Charlotte's 5th birthday on Monday so made a call but got the answering machine. Shortly afterwards, Mum Kate, called back and I was able to congratulate the birthday girl-in person. In fact she had her birthday party on Saturday with her friends.

The following day Mum Kate posted a link on Facebook to Nigella Watson's "Irish Cream Tiramisu". So I assume Kate had made the 5 year olds a wonderful alcohol packed dessert for the birthday party. Seems like a wise move if you want a quiet afternoon but it may be even better if it was served as the first course.

In honour of this, I made a version today for my young princess. As it wont keep until she gets over, I have started to demolish it. Didn't taste at all bad but somehow not quite what I expected. I had bought a bottle of super cheap (4.00 GBP/70cl bottle)  supermarket , what I thought was Bailey's like, called "O'Connor Cream". It does mention whiskey on the bottle but I suspect it may be diluted with other forms of alcohol. In the Blip community, MissWinterfinch is renowned for her moonshine homemeade Irish Cream. I wonder if she has consider getting in to exporting it from the USA.

Perhaps when they are over next we will try a different version - an Austrian Tiramisu with 80% alc.vol. "Stroh Rum".

Well it's just turned midnight over the UK and the voting starts in a few hours. Hope whatever way it goes it's good for the country. I am biased - I rely on the UK economy for part of my future income and I am very proud of my country and please remember in the week seeing the 70th anniversary of the ending of WWII, Europe needs a strong Britain in the EU helping to reform it from within- Living in Bavaria, I can see many almost identical scenarios developing in the UK. They can be a positive but the UK may have to consider whether the "1st past the post" voting system is still appropriate. 33% of voting UK Blipers may be happy on Friday morning but that also means 66% are unhappy or couldn't care. Perhaps a Conservative/Labour coalition might be the best solution for the next 5 years!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.