Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Time

like an ever-rolling stream was the first thing that came to mind then I left it too late to picture an ever-rolling stream bearing it's sons away as I was on my way to choir practice so an irrigation ditch had to suffice.

EDIT Thursday 7 May:  I've been looking for a book in all my muddle and came across a little article abut time which I'd clipped from a newspaper several years ago.  I often look in the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations for inspiration as well.  But finding the clipping was serendipitous and you know I like serendipity.

       Half our life is spent trying to find something to do with the time we have rushed through life trying to save  ~ Will Rogers

       Time hovers o'er, impatient to destroy,
       And shuts up all passage of joy 
~ Samuel Johnson

      You can't measure time in days the way you can money in dollars (or pounds) because every day is different.  ~ Jorge Luis Borges

  
     And waiting means hurrying on ahead, it means regarding time and the present moment not as a boon, but an obstruction: it means making their actual content null and void, by mentally overleaping them.  Waiting we say is long.  We might just as well - or more accurately - say it is short, since it consumes whole spaces of time without our living them or making any use of them as such.  ~ Thomas Mann

       If there is no time like the present, but we don't have the time, is there no present? ~ Stephanie Salter     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.