Dare Mighty Things

By dcomp

A nation decides...

....to sit on the fence.

The common thought amongst spectators, commentators and those in the know is that today politicians who are, at best, deeply untrustworthy and at worst, fraudsters, liars, cheaters and all round scheisters, will be passed the opportunity not to form a majority government but to see who is prepared to sacrifice the most number of promises made during the last 38 days since Parliament was dissolved.

We will begin to find out our fate in the early hours of tomorrow morning and at that point, doors start to open and close while senior and not so senior figures from all the parties, enter what is likely to be days of negotiations.

Gone are the days of landslide victories: Political events and politicians themselves have seen to that and the night before an election, I was sat in bed reading manifestos of all parties because for the first time in my voting life, I genuinely couldn't decide.

These seem to be the options:

1 - Vote for the party you truly believe can lead Britain to a stronger, brighter future

2 - Vote for a party who is deeply flawed, has a less than desirable track record but has a chance of getting us where we need to be

3 - Vote for the guy you detest slightly less than the others

4 - Vote tactically

What is in no doubt is that this election is the most important election in my living memory and, according to the BBC at least, ever.

I am not comfortable that I only decided at 1.30am, who to vote for and that there isn't a strong candidate or a strong party who I can say confidently 'that's our guy/girl' about. But that's the reality.

What I was not prepared to do was sacrifice my vote in a Brand-esque protestation because of this: I want the right to complain about whoever is in power in 5 or 10 days time and if I don't go and mark that paper and place it in the ballot box, I simply don't have it.

I saw a friend of mine last night had written his Blipfoto entry and entitled it 'Praying for our country': After marking that paper today, that's pretty much all any of us can do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.