Because I can

I know it’s predictable and there will be a lot of these kind of blips around, but I make no apology. It is the most important thing I will do today and the outcome, whatever it is, will have an impact on all our lives for many years to come. So Election Day 2015 has to have a place in my journal.

It may be old-fashioned, as perhaps more sensible people get postal votes, and I suppose eventually we will all be voting online, but I like walking down to the Village Hall and placing my mark, because it reminds me that I can.
 
Despite the best efforts of some newspapers to intimidate, bully, frighten people into voting one way or another, with their ferocious, often quite shameful, outbursts (made all the more disgusting as those same papers are owned by people who don’t even pay taxes here and are only concerned for their own financial gain), when I walked down to the Polling Station this morning, there was no one to threaten me, no one to influence what I did, I was free to vote whichever way I wanted with no reprisals, and also know that my vote will be counted fairly.
   
So, despite knowing, because of where I live and because of our crazy voting system, that my vote will have no impact whatsoever on the result, locally or nationally, I walked down to vote. Simply because . . . I can!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.