A well loved feature of East Lothian

Yesterday I was going out with my friend Eric to do some photography and the weather looked a bit iffy, overcast with the prospects of some showers.
First of all we checked out the bluebell wood near Brunt but flowers were only just beginning to come out so I settled down to do some macro shots. Unfortunately I was on a 45 degree slope so my back was creaking after bending  down over the camera whilst trying to keep a firm foothold. We then went on to Hailes Castle where I concentrated on doing some IR shots as the foliage on the trees is beginning to come out. A brief shower reminded us to move on and get some lunch so we went to the Crown in East Linton for a pleasant bite to eat. After lunch we thought we would do a bit more photography  nearby and initially went to Smeaton where there are some lovely old trees in the grounds and again I concentrated on infrared photography. Finally we popped into Preston Mill which is a National Trust property that most people who visit East Lothian go to see at some time in their lives. It must be years since I last visited, well before we moved out to the coast. We were blessed with a sunny spell and the old mill there is most photogenic. All in all a good day, well spent. I have included the Preston Mill shot as its a unlikely that I will revisit it for years again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.