Polling Place

I did my democratic duty this morning (although not here - this polling station on my route to work was just more photogenic).

Yesterday I posted this on Facebook:

I'm struggling to decide how to vote tomorrow.
Fundamentally I believe in building a strong economy for the benefit of all in society - I believe a strong economic base to tax is the only way to fund the things that need to be done in the NHS, in mental health, in employment and in education.
No manifesto gives enough detail (on spending or cuts) for detail judgements about economic outcomes (and economics is an imprecise study at best), so I have to look at the big picture.
I dislike and distrust Milliband, and both he and Cameron are turning me off by demonising each other and lacking any real sense of authenticity - they don't seem to be guided by belief but rather by the political expediency. Their interviews on R4 were pathetic.
I broadly agree with Lib Dems on policy, but they have not shone in coalition this time so why would they next time? I love the "heart in a Conservative coalition, brain in a Labour coalition" message, but otherwise I am underwhelmed.
Then I come to the SNP. I am a unionist, so I disagree with them at the most fundamental of levels. However, broadly I am as aligned with their political agenda as the Lib Dems. They seem to provide very competent government in Scotland (more than I often feel inclined to say of Westminster) and I find Swinney and Ewing genuinely impressive. The whole "tories out" message is getting a bit negative and repetitive, but with the SNP I see a party of genuine conviction politicians, with heart, brains and demonstrated competence.
My main fear is that my vote will then somehow be seen as a vote for independence - which it is not. I would hate my vote to be counted as weight behind the case for another referendum...
After the referendum I can't believe I'm saying this, but with only hours to go I'm seriously considering voting SNP...


I was interested to see that out of 20+ responses from a diverse group of friends and contacts there were lots of reasons not to vote for parties, including SNP, and a lot of general dissatisfaction with any of the choices. No positive alternate suggestions or excitement about policies.

I'm clearly not alone in my lack of excitement at the choices.

I will be fascinated to see what happens tomorrow - and I fervently hope that it shakes things up a bit and we have another debate about UK constitutional reform.  Proportional representation and a review of the House of Lords seem like a good starting point.  I may be a unionist, but I want a better version of the union!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.