wsjohnson

By wsjohnson

"Good morning mister sunshine . . .

"You brighten up my day, come sit beside me in your way"

Okay, so the train departed - on time no less - and She is off to see the Wizard (actually Gov. Brown) to express bitterness over the water situation, plus the state of our educational system (I happen to be a 'Common Core' supporter but that's another story)

"I see you every morning outside the restaurants, the music plays so nonchalant"

She normally keeps her opinions regarding such matters to herself, exhibiting that typical "British Reserve" but recently (upon her return from her rejuvenation trip home) taking note of the 'browning' (there's a pun there, sorry) of California and the general apathy of certain communities regarding the deteriorating education system, the "quiet little 'English lady' with the kites" decided to speak out

"Lonely days, lonely nights, where would I be without my woman, lonely days, lonely nights, where would I be without my woman?"

And so, a collective - 5 'little-old' ladies - boarded the train yesterday morning and off to Sacramento they went, to do what they feel needs be done, adding their voices to the chorus.

(Or maybe just taking a tour of the Capitol followed by lunch, drinks and dinners at the Hyatt, with a 'side' excursion up to Gold Country, hell, they're gone till Monday!)

The above photo was taken, after the train departed, at a rather fascinating Italian restaurant, where I drowned my 'Bee Gees' inspired feelings in a rather tall glass of Merlot, wondering why I was not invited to "tag" along with the "girls"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.