Plus ça change...

By SooB

Coalition dinner

Busy day.  I really have to stop saying that.  Perhaps if I treat today as a laid back and lazy kind of day, then I'll achieve more tomorrow?  Though actually all that is scheduled for tomorrow (no school) is recovering from staying up watching the election and a meeting with our builder.

So, admin was administered, list items were scored out, windows were re-puttied (that wasn't even on the list, except obliquely as it was a precursor to 'do stair curtains' - the curtains are done, but it seemed sensible to do the messy putty work before putting their wafty white muslin-ness in place) and weeds were pulled (though that really counts as recreation as I only did it for an excuse to be out in the lovely sunshine).

Dinner was a compromise.  CarbBoy is allergic to beef, so steak is a rare treat for TallGirl and me.  CarbBoy adores chicken nuggets, but I find them a bore to make, so caved and bought some (he says mine are better - sensible boy.  He'll make a politician one day.  He already has a mature grasp of our political system: "that's stupid" he said in response to every element of my explanation of how it works....), the asparagus (I'm getting to the end of my annual love affair with it just as the season is drawing to a close - how convenient) is just for TallGirl and me.  CarbBoy had veg AND fruit for lunch so is spared....  

His lunch was at school today - a picnic in honour of the garden and a chance for all the kids to sample some radishes and lettuce.  They seemed very happy with the fruits of their labour.  The neighbour I take to school in the morning had no picnic (his Mum had forgotten - but then she does start work at 7.15, so fair enough).  I told him CarbBoy had more than he needed so they could share.  Then I rethought.  And took in enough food to feed two more boys when I went back in to pick up TallGirl for lunch.  The boys ate it all.  I'm glad I reminded myself that CarbBoy is the only child I know who doesn't eat a big lunch!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.