Home is now my homeland

Israa Al Modalla made a big impression on us today.

In her early twenties.
Journalist.
First female spokesperson for the government in Gaza at the age of 23.
Now a youth activist suffering
from the occupation and blocade,
from the lack of free press in Gaza.

She says:
Recognize Palestine as state
Put pressure on Israel to stop the occupation
The lack of reconstruction is making the split in Gaza deeper
There must be a free election
I can't breath in Gaza
there is no freedom
I can't tolerate even one more minute of the blocade
The war has not just demolished houses and taken lives,
also the people need to be reconstructed

I have no longer a homeland
Home is my homeland
I'm  not safe anywhere else.

The only place I can call my homeland
is the place I have freedom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.