Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

The votes are in

Spent much of the night at 'the count' in Norwich city centre from 10pm, getting home about 6am with a short break in the middle when I nipped home for a couple hours sleep. Labour won the seat for Norwich South with the LibDems beating the  Greens for second place- god knows how that happened! UKIP got far too many votes for my liking but less than the Tories. Class War got 96, which was more than they expected, and more than the independent candidate.

Each candidate was invited to give a speech from the podium at the end and the Tory woman appeared completely oblivious to what is happening to vulnerable people as a result of government policies and was brilliantly heckled by my chum Emma who is a fellow activist, mental health nurse and local Labour councillor (I chimed in with a rousing couple of shouts of 'Shame!). Best speech, and the last one,  came from another of my activist comrades, David, who was standing for Class War who spelled out exactly what austerity is doing to poor people, disabled people - killing them. I saw Greens applauding and heard murmurs of 'hear hear' from Labour supporters stood near me. Lib Dems and Tories just seemed oblivious. I don't know how they sleep at night, I really don't.


I have yet to hear how Mick (Disabled and Not Dead Yet) Hardy fared in Norwich North but  it looks like the bloody Tories are going to be in control for another five years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.