Thunderbolt and Lightfoot

A slightly disappointing day. Not because I finished typing all my school reports. Not because Kazuko and I ate a delicious meal at our favourite Indian restaurant, Charte Charte. Not because I finished reading Christopher McDougall's excellent book, Born To Run. No, the disappointment was that I was not able to get to the race track today, as I had hoped, to try out the barefoot running technique which McDougall champions so convincingly in his book. So, instead, I hit the streets in my Under Armour Speedforms which, like Nike's Barefoots, are supposed to be the closest thing you can get to running barefoot.

The last time I wore my Speedforms was when I ran the Osaka Marathon in October 2014. Then they helped me knock five minutes off my previous fastest marathon time. Today, despite hitting several red lights and despite the heat, I still managed a good time for ten kilometers. So now I am thinking that I might stop wearing the over-cushioned Nikes and wear the more ergonomically healthy Speedform. I had been loathe to wear them too often before since they are rather expensive but, for the sake of my legs - which I have learned are in quite a lot of danger from this sport - it might be worth the expense. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.