Dark Shadows

Intrinsically I think most people are decent - I believe that people can see the common good and do in large want a better society.
Waking to this morning's news I struggle to marry that view to the decisions that my countrymen have made - an outcome far worse than any forecast predicted - an outcome that will give many many people five very very difficult years. 
At 9:00am this morning I was at my Dr's surgery - people working in the NHS - the very embodiment of all that I think is right about my country - they just look shell shocked - they know that it will take a miracle to keep it running now in any semblance of how it was intended to be - my Dr told me they just simply cannot cope - they've been unable to recruit a full time GP for over a year now. Friends in education tell me it's the same story there.

But if, as I believe, most people basically want to do the right thing - then those same people, the nurses, the teachers, those just starting out -  they'll be hit hard as they have to tighten their belts, put their shoulders to the wheel and carry on - pushed to breaking point trying to hold things together - while those in power (on both sides) lose sight of the little understanding they may once of had of what life is like for the majority in the UK and instead perpetuate a culture of them and us, demonising the very people they're supposed to be helping.

Here's hoping tomorrows a brighter day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.