shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

What a difference a day makes

Or even a few hours. I sat up until 4am watching seat after seat announce, including the constituency where I live (Labour hold, no surprise), but, of course, the most interesting ones were the one after another in Scotland that fell to the SNP. It was wonderful to watch, not that I am really a nationalist, but I fully understand the choice made by so many Scottish voters, and was I living in Scotland now, I would have voted along with them. I was most interested in East Renfrewshire, where Jim Murphy lost, Glasgow North where it was nice to see a familiar face winning a seat, Ayrhsire North and Arran, where I grew up, and Glasgow South - where I used to live. Plus all other the incredible swings. In some ways surprising, but in others not at all.  I went to sleep rather encouraged at the prospects, but when I woke it was a very different picture. Just 3 hours, and it had all changed. Nailing my colours to the mast, I am very, very worried about what our country (UK) is going to look like in 5 years. When the government is announcing prospective cuts to disability support funding on their very first day, that bodes very badly indeed for the vulnerable in society. My blip is a wee homage to Nicola Sturgeon, and includes a rather disgruntled looking Labour supporter. But my questions are along the back. What stands ahead for the elderly, the young, for working people, for the housing situation, for immigrants, for business, for the emergency services, the NHS and the arts? With limited funding available, due to the continued austerity policies, where exactly will the cuts fall? Very few answers available, but I am concerned about the lack of protection available to those who most need it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.