Black Mountains Blips

By Hanneke3

The second first egg!

And now one of the other chickens has laid their first egg! It is small but perfectly formed! I have already eaten it, the shell was a little thin, but an extremely good effort for a first egg!

I initially thought it was Nera, the Longtown Brown, who is supposed to lay terracotta coloured eggs, but I have since found out that this pinky pale brown egg is more likely to be Bianca's. She is a Light Sussex. I thought they laid cream eggs however after some Googling I now know the colour can vary from white through cream and pink to a pale, peachy brown...

Shame, as I had hoped for cream coloured eggs... But we will see how they contrast with Nera's once she starts laying.

Her red bits have been growing and have become proper red so she cannot be that far off laying now :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.