70 years on

Well it's been quite a day! I'm not usually that interested in politics but have found the events of the last 24 hours quite fascinating.

I do think it's a shame that it has clashed with the 70th anniversary of VE Day though. It is in danger of being overshadowed.

There is a beacon being lit in Walefield tonight and I had intended going along but the weather is awful, it is still bucketing down, so I've taken the easy warm option.

I knew I had some old photos somewhere and managed to find them. They were taken on Parthenon Drive in Liverpool, the street where my mum grew up, at a street party on VE Day, although my mum, who would have been 13 at the time, doesn't seem to be on them.

I have always been fascinated by these old pictures, and wish I had taken more time to ask both my mum and dad more questions about the past! They lived through so much history and I know very little about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.