Jubilee Day

Today spade in hand on Mayoral duties I had to plant a tree and make a councillor speech at our jubilee event.
The first, the planting of the tree went well, with our Bakewell town crier doing sterling service.
Me doing a little speech about how i'd planted an acorn when I was 6 years old in my primary school playground and watching it grow over the years so that it was taller than me and then seeing the school sold and them cutting down the tree for a car park was an honest affair about my love of trees.

The second didn't go quite as planned.
I had a speech lined up for the Queens Reign and the Rain that was pouring down outside.
Sadly I was edited out never to be heard.
Oh Well!
Thankfully an event that could easily have been rained off was a total success owing to the ever optimistic people of Bakewell, the sort of people who make Britain Great. As soon as the DJ switched on so did they and I left to happily painted faces and dancing feet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.