New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

The Tottenham Toad

Took a group of 20 people on a Moselle Mosey today - Haringey's hidden river.
They were a great group and we had great weather. The course of the river is 7.5 miles - mostly culverted with a couple of overground sections in Lordship Rec and Tottenham Cemetery.
I had discovered a 400 year old folk song, The Tottenham Toad, about a Tottenham lad (toad) who was courting an Enfield lass (squirrel) but the river kept flooding and disrupting things.
Here's the first verse:
The Tottenham Toad came walking up the road
With his feet a-swimming in the sea
'Pretty little squirrel with her tail in a curl
They've all got a wife but me.'
I had decided that the group should learn this song to keep their spirits up as we trudged along Tottenham High Road toward the end of the walk, I was amazed that I got everyone to join in. Possibly because I can't sing either.
This pic is courtesty of one of the group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.