NormPietila

By NormPietila

It's all in the light ...

An evening stroll led to me to many possible blip chances.  I bumped into 3 fellas hanging out in a gazebo and they said I just missed a flock of 30 or more blue jays in the trees near them.  What a site that would have been!  So as I was out of bird territory I circled the neighbourhood and came across an elderly gentleman standing on the sidewalk outside his home.  I asked him if this was his house and said it was beautiful.  He said he was the third generation owner.  Funny, I have gone by it before and never looked at it like I did tonight.  He seemed nice and friendly so I asked him if I could take his picture in front of it.  He smiled and agreed and then proceeded to pose near the front veranda of which he commented that there used to be railings but they were a bit of a nuisance.  I was using my telephoto lens tonight so my shot was just a close up. I took 2 extra shots (see extras) to show the home a little better.  I had to go to the opposite driveway for the second one.  This home had such character.  Not like the modern monstrosities going up all around the 'hood.  The lighting was so interesting as it fell through the gingerbread decor trim.  I would love to have the opportunity to go inside some day and chat with this old fella.  Maybe if he likes the accordion (a tall wish) we could play him a jig or two and listen to stories from the past.  Simple pleasures indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.