Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Flying the Guernsey flag for Liberation Day

Today is the 70th anniversary of the liberation of Guernsey and we were very lucky with the weather. I had a quick wander around town this morning and got plenty of street shots of traffic wardens, police, civil protection officers, lifeboat crew, soldiers, you name it, I got it but I liked this lady flying the Guernsey flag on her head.

I went back home and found that my ukulele had been delivered so I'll have to try to learn a few chords before I go back to Alderney and the ukulele strumming evening.

I had a light lunch then headed to the church for this peal attempt. We rang for about 2 hours but two bells had swapped over so the peal would have been false so we had to give up. It was a shame but at the speed we were ringing the whole thing would have taken well over three and a half hours. Too long to stand still! But the great Guernsey public won't know the difference and they had two hours of enjoyment or annoyance depending on what they think of church bells.

I will go out later and ring briefly at two other churches to celebrate the liberation. Then I might just treat myself to a glass of wine...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.