The State I Am In

By Shuji

#9 Starálfur

A beautiful sunbeam shone in the morning, I went for a walk to Weston Park. Luckily, there were many cute newborn ducklings! (see extra photos) I think I spent nearly an hour by just watching them. Sometimes the mother duck was driving away magpies that were trying to attack the duckling. Mothers are strong.

I studied in the afternoon at my flat and took this photo just a while ago at the neighbouring churchyard for today's blip.

So today's song is "Starálfur" from Ágætis byrjun (1999),  the second album by the Icelandic band Sigur Rós. Their songs are absolutely beautiful, just as beautiful as Iceland that I picture. 

"Starálfur", which means "Staring Elf" in Icelandic, begins with the phrase, 

Blá nótt yfir himininn (Blue night across the sky)
Blá nótt yfir mér (Blue night over me)


Hence today's blip, a blue night.

High noises are good sometimes, eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.