Ford GPA Amphibian

The Liberation of Guernsey after five years of occupation during WWII by the German forces, took place on the 9th of May 1945 ... This year sees the 70th anniversary of this important date in the islands history and is celebrated with cavalcades, street parties and spectacular firework displays ...
---
You may have noticed, however, that this blip is not dated the 9th of May, and that this picture of a 'Ford GPA Amphibian' (which was part of the celebration cavalcade) was actually taken on the 7th of May ...
---
For several days prior to Liberation Day, this - and many other WWII vehicles - could be seen driving around the island in convoy. During one such convoy, I was forced to pull my van over to the side of the road and wait for it to pass ...
---
So I hooked out my 'emergency' camera and as each vehicle drove by, I took a shot at of it ... :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.