But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Three Bridges.

I went out cycling with an old friend today, though he's not quite as old as I am. We managed to dodge the rain, and even ended up sitting in his garden drinking cups of tea in the un-necessarily hot sun-shine. As soon as I started the ride home, the sky darkened and I got drenched.

The blip is of the Forth bridges with the two free-standing towers which are the piers of the new bridge to be called the "Queensferry Crossing." The spikes on the top are construction cranes. There is a legend that there was a competition to choose a suitable name for it with the most popular entry being, "The Third Forth Bridge to Fife."

The nearest reference I can find to this is an article in our national newspaper,  the “Scotsman,” facetiously suggesting the title, "The Third Firth of Forth to Fife Bridge” with the alternative possibility of “Salmond’s Leap.”

I have just posted yesterday’s, “At the Bottom of the Garden.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.