Golf gardening

An early start from Rio today to play in a friendly tournament our new captain had arranged for the ladies (Mother's Day is this Sunday in Brazil). As it turned out, only two of us turned up, but we had a good time and I was even pleased with my long game, although I lost my drive in the trees on the penultimate hole. Still, I found this huge clump of bromeliads on a fallen tree. We rehoused it by the next tee, where people will see it.

Back at the clubhouse, I persuaded a couple of other ladies to put their cards in. One of them, a new golfer, was very reluctant, but I argued that it was only right to respond to the captain's gesture. Perhaps that was a mistake - we all got lovely bouquets, but she pipped me for first place by one Stapleford point, and won the giant orchid (just kidding, I was really happy she won, it should give her confidence).

The afternoon was sad - we went to the funeral of the caddy master, who died unexpectedly yesterday (funerals have to be within 24 hours in Brazil). We've known him for 40 years, and people came from all over to see him off. It was heart-warming to see how well has was remembered. I was also touched to re-meet someone who still caddies at the club we belonged to in Rio. After so many years, he still remembered our names, that we had a Jeep (which must have stood out like a sore thumb, compared with all the posh cars); and also our little daughters, playing in the pool (probably a bit unusual too, with one of them being coffee-coloured. Lots of colour prejudice in Brazil, despite what they say.). And he gave us news of other employees and members we knew back then, all too many of them now gone.

Back home to check on the dogs and I'm more optimistic that Duke and Kayla will become friends. Duke also reacted very happily to other dogs in the road, when I took them out. When we got home, he went up to Kayla and started licking her enthusiastically. She wasn't too sure about it, and eventually told him sharply to clear off. I wonder what tomorrow will bring.

I didn't intend to use the extra photo option - I feel it detracts from blip's uniqueness and the exercise of weeding out and choosing, but.... I did rather like the low-hanging tulip tree flowers. And now I've decided to add one of the bromeliads in their new home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.