Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Black Rat Snake

The husband suddenly said "a snake!" and I rushed over with my camera only to see nothing but the end of its tail as it slid under a boxwood thru the lilies of the valley. But I wanted a picture, so I rather rudely grabbed its tail and pulled it back out, snapped a shot or two, and watched it slide back under the bush. He seemed not to be bothered by being hoicked out and photographed! I do like snakes. Not venomous ones, at least - not to mess with - but the good old harmless black snakes are quite lovely.

And as a bonus, one of the Phoebes peeking out from under the porch where their nest is. There are little fuzzy heads in the nest now. On the plus side, I don't think the snake can get to the nest...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.