When the rose is faded

For some reason I kept the roses from the lovely bouquet my daughters sent me for Mother’s Day, several months back now. They are gradually drying out and I have grown quite attached to them. I think the colours are beautiful. Of course I could have cut them down a bit and arranged them better, but one touch and the petals fall, so I will leave them be.

I was going to try a macro, but then realised that the vase they are in was one I bought from the local potter in the village we stay in in Provence. I have bought a many pieces from her over the years, but this one that I bought last year is now my favourite.

When the rose is faded, 
Memory may still dwell on
Her beauty shadowed 
And the sweet smell gone.

Walter de la Mare
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.