Dockey Wood

Many thanks to June Fox for organising an blipmeet to the Ashridge Estate and the fabulous display of bluebells at Dockey Wood.

I guess I've never quite believed photos which showed bluebells in great profusion, but Dockey Wood took my breath away.  It was simply beautiful.

It was also very busy, despite our early start. As soon as you set up and the sun pierced the foliage somebody would inevitably walk into your shot.  Landscape photography is often about patience... (grr...)

I got back very late and I really need time to process my photos properly - balancing the colours and light is going to be hard. However, I am rather pleased with this one.  For those who are interested, I cropped and tweaked one shot before adding some motion blur to create a 'drag' effect.  (Very hard to do well in camera with a ball head, I've found.  Pan and tilt is much easier.)

I then combined it with the original file to bring back some of the leaf and flower detail - I particularly liked the way the sun caught the leaves on the right.

Apologies if I've missed any comments - but it's now very late and I need to get to bed... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.